Why?

Why?

Why not?

I know we don’t like our questions answered with other questions, but in this case, that’s all I have. In the future, this place will serve as my stream of consciousness of sorts, giving you my ramblings on a variety of topics. Today, it serves as my answer to the first question on most of your minds.

I’m heading to Europe for a while. I’m not sure how long honestly, nor am I concerned how long I will be there. I’m not going because I’m having some sort of early mid-life crisis, to try to find myself, or because I need to get away. Actually, it was for precisely the opposite reason.

I know I can be truly happy here or anywhere else. I don’t need to leave, I’m choosing to. I’ve been a travel nerd since I can remember. My favorite book as a kid was titled Exploring the 50 States. Some of my favorite moments growing up on Easy Street (yes, that’s actually the name of the street) involve playing Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego? with my neighbor on her computer. I finally have the opportunity to go try to find her.

What I’m doing might seem completely insane or reckless to some people. I understand and respect that. What I want is absolutely not what everyone wants, or should want. We all have things we desire most. This is mine.

Why?

Why not?

One thought on “Why?

  1. Christie Folkerts

    GOOD FOR YOU, NICK!!!! I am not surprised in the least. This sounds totally like you and I couldn’t be happier for you that you have the chance to do this! Be safe and kick ass!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

